Seventh Son

Seventh Son by Orson Scott Card (Tom Doherty Associates, 1987).

Yes, I know this was written 25 years ago. I’m just catching up on fantasy everyone else has read long ago. Over the holidays, I read a book I gave my daughter called Legends II, an anthology of fantasy stories from various authors. One of the stories was an excerpt from Seventh Son, so I decided to read the original. On the cover of the book Seventh Son it says “Come fall in love with a magical America that might have been.” I found Card’s vision of an alternative 18th century America (where magic is real) a little too scary to fall in love with, but at least not as disturbing as the world of Ender’s Game, the only previous work I knew Orson Scott Card for.

I also tried to listen to Last Man in Tower by Aravind Adiga (Atlantic Books, 2011) on CD, but got tired of it after 3 discs. It really gave a very bleak and negative view of the modern-day residents of Mumbai. They were nearly all mean, selfish, corrupt, and greedy. I’m sure there must be some decent folks there.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fantasy

Leave a Reply

