Written in my own heart’s blood

Written in my own heart’s blood by Diana Gabaldon (Delacorte Press, 2014)

If you’re a fan of Diana Gabaldon’s books, you probably already have this one on hold at the library. It’s hard to pin down her genre – let’s call it science fiction crossed with historical romance, and a strong dose of intelligent humor? I got my library’s copy two weeks ago, fortuitously in time to take on an airplane trip. It kept me occupied from Philadelphia to Minneapolis and back (including a long layover in Chicago), and I was not disappointed. This sequel to An Echo in the Bone reunites Roger and Briana (eventually) as well as Claire and Jamie (early on) and wraps up many story lines in a satisfying way, but leaves some options for future installments. I especially liked the clever titles for many of the chapters. I’ll definitely be asking for a copy of my own for Christmas. If you haven’t read any of Diana Gabaldon’s novels before, you absolutely should, but don’t start with this one. You need to start with the first book of this long series, Outlander, which will soon be adapted as a t.v. series on the Starz network. It’s going to be the next Games of Thrones.

Leave a comment

Filed under Historical fiction, Romance, Science fiction

Leave a Reply

