The Forgetting Time

The Forgetting Time by Sharon Guskin (Flatiron Books, 2016)

This is frankly kind of a disturbing novel. I had to read it all in one evening because I was afraid I would have nightmares if I went to sleep before I finished it.  The concept is that when children die violent deaths and their souls are reincarnated, the babies remember their previous lives for their first few years. If they remember long enough to be able to talk about it, they may persuade the adults in their life to help them find their former families. Even though the premise is impossible, the writer draws you in and makes you believe it for a little while. The story may be all about forgetting, but readers are going to have trouble forgetting this one.  I’m not so sure I’m glad I read it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiction

Leave a Reply

