Left in the wind

Left in the Wind: the Roanoke Journal of Emme Merrimoth by Ed Gray (Pegasus Books, 2016)

I found this book disappointing. I was promised a plausible (though fictitious) explanation of what happened to the Lost Colony of Roanoke, and I didn’t get one. It was a confusing story, with several opposing groups of colonists and several opposing groups of Native Americans. That’s not unbelievable, but it could have been written and explained more clearly. What struck me about it was the similarity to science fiction books I’ve read about colonists on distant planets who encounter alien civilizations. I never thought of the settlement of the United States in that way before.

Leave a comment

Filed under Historical fiction

Leave a Reply

